Friday, March 11, 2011

Kavieng surfers set to hit the waves

The National - Thursday, March 10, 2011
SURFERS from Kavieng, New Ireland, are set to ride the waves at the National Surfing Titles in Madang this month and are looking to dominate the event with their array of strength.
However, Shaun Keane, a board member of the Niu Ailan Surfriders Alliance (NASA) and Surfing Association PNG, said they were still in the process of sorting out their final squad.
He said they were not in a position to confirm the number of participants attending the event because they were currently liaising with potential sponsors for support.
“We have a good number of other surfers and are awaiting the outcome of financial capacity and the budget,” he said.
The shortlist of competitors in the open and masters divisions are Adam Smith, Junior Yanga, Ricky Barol, Stanley Victor, Timan Leviles, Levi Pilakos, Shaun Keane and Titima Mange while the women’s division has Rachael James, Lucy Victor and Anna Silas.
Five surfers, Olsen Mangi, Steven Samari, Joel Gauis, Paulus Paul and Noel Gauis are likely to feature in the junior division.
Kavieng Surf Club also boasts of four accredited surf judges, who are accomplished surfers.
Certified judges under International Surfing Association are Luke James, James Victor, Nolis David and Junior Yanga.
“Subject to travel budgets and work commitments, we would like to see their participation in the often overlooked and under-appreciated field of judging and heat organisation.
“Every sport has a set of rules and a qualified team of people to effectively administer those rules. The work of judges behind the scenes is indeed appreciated,” he said.
He added that Air Niugini had been very supportive in offering special fares to facilitate the opportunity to send teams to compete at the tournament.
“We will keep you posted on the progress on other distinguished supporters who are keen to lend a hand and get involved in the evolution of modern surfing in PNG,” he said.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.